portugal lithuania france france netherlands uk uk iceland uk

Pilot 6

ECAS Integration



The European Commission operates numerous electronic services that require user authentication. These are an ecosystem that can range from services supporting communication between Member States to services for operations with the Commission. Two out of many examples are the Internal Market Information System and the participant portal in European research programmes. The European Commission Authentication System “ECAS” provides authentication services for many of these services. By integrating STORK with ECAS, Member States’ electronic identities can be used to access these services.


The aim of the STORK pilot “ECAS Integration” is to enhance European Commission electronic services by Member States’ electronic identities.

The pilot is carried out in close cooperation between STORK and DIGIT.


The pilot period will consist of two phases. The pilot will start with enabling STORK-authentication with CIRCABC – a platform to support collaborative groups with sharing documents and resources in private workspaces. The aim of this phase is to gain operational experience with the STORK-ECAS integration in a challenging, but still not business critical environment.

Once experience with CIRCABC has been gained, further applications are envisaged. The applications under discussion are:

  • The Internal Market Information System (IMI) that supports communication between national, regional and local authorities
  • The participants portal for research grants under the 7th Framework Programme (FP7)
  • The Community Independent Transaction Log (CITL) for the EU emission trading system
  • The eJustice portal, a large scale pilot under ICT-PSP to support judicial cooperation

Users Groups

Depending on the application, targeted users are public officials (IMI, eJustice), businesses and organisations (CITL, FP7 portal), or both (CIRCABC)


The pilot shall increase user convenience by using their national eID, and leverage the security of applications by multi-factor authentication and identities confirmed by States’ identity management systems.


The pilot launched in September 2010.


Austria, Belgium, Estonia, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Directorate-General for Informatics (DIGIT)


ICT Policy Support Programme, Competitiveness and Innovation Framework Programme (CIP)

Further information


Pilot coordinator / Contact

FEDICT, Belgium
Email: [email protected]